Tuesday, Septembre 6th, 14.30 to 16.30 hs
Conservatorio Superior de Música de la Ciudad "Astor Piazzolla"
Sarmiento 3401 – Buenos Aires



Born in Sabadell (Barcelona, Spain), Benet Casablancas studied in Barcelona and Vienna - in the latter with Friedrich Cerha and Kart-Heinz Füssl. He is Doctor in Philosophy of the Universidad Autónoma of Barcelona and Doctor in Musicology “cum laude” of the same University.

Distinguished with numerous commissions and awards such as City of Barcelona, Musician’s Accord of New York, National Award of the Ministry of Cultura of Spain, Composer’s Arena of Amsterdam, Juan March Foundation of Madrid, Musical Youth of Barcelona, Oscar Esplá, Ferran Sors, Nomination XVth Edition of the Music Awards 2011, etc.

His works are regularly performed in Europe, Canada, USA, Japan and Latin America by the London Sinfonietta, Ensemble Contemporain of Montreal, Ensemble 13 of Baden-Baden, Chamber Orchestra of Lausanne, Arditti Quartett, Leipziger Streichquartett, Trio à cordes of Paris, Deutsches Kammerphilarmonie Bremen, Orchestre National of Belgium, National Orchestra of Spain, NJO of The Netherlands, London Philharmonic Orchestra, L’Hermitage State Orchestra Saint Petersburg, Perspectivas Ensemble New York, Ensemble 10/10 Liverpool, The Tokyo Sinfonietta, Notabu Ensemble Dusseldorf, Nomad Ensemble Japan, Ensemble Modern Akademie, Grupo Encuentros of Buenos Aires, Ensemble Reconsil Wien, Oberlin Contemporary Music Ensemble, Zeitfluss Ensemble of Graz, Malmö Symfoni Orkester, Philharmonic of Grand Canaria, Sympohny Orchestra of La Coruña, Barcelona, Tenerife, Galicia, City of Granada, Mallorca, Castilla and León , Community of Madrid, Radio and Television of Spain, etc.

In 2007 was awarded the National Price of Music by the Generalitat of Catalunya for his commitment as musician, composer and teacher.

In 2008 the BBC Symphony Orchestra premiered his New Epigrams that represented Spain before the ISCM World Music Days in Vilnius.

He has published many articles referred to historic and analitic topics in The New Grove, Arietta, Journal of European Beethoven Society, Quodlibet, as well as the book The humor in music, joke, irony, (Reichenberger 2000). He is often asked as a Jury in European composition contests and interpretation. Since 2002 he is the director of the Superior Conservatory of Music.

His musical creation is inspired on a personal research based on aesthetic independence. The reviews had emphasized his expressivnes,dramatism and virtuosity. He count with Works recorded for Naxos (piano, chamber and orchestra), Stradivarius, Tritó and Anemos.

His latest activities :Theatre of the Universidad of Columbia, Nueva York
(Serie Composers Portrait), The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra,
Ensemble 88 of Maastricht, Ensemble Cantus Croatia (Biennal of Zagreb),Tokyo Sinfonietta, Orquesta Sinfónica del Vallés (Barcelona) and Gran
Teatro del Liceo (for the opera "Io", by Rafael Argullol).

This seminar aims to approach the students the composer´s music through his 35 years of creative work giving a panorama of his production that includes around 100 works of great diversity, focusing mainly on the technical and aesthetical evolution.

He will offer a brief summary of the recent history of the Spanish and Catalan music since the beginning of the XXth century until today.

The following works will be studied:

"Cinc Cançons i Danses" (Frederic Mompou/orchestration Benet Casablancas)
(1979/rev. 2007)
* "Dos piezas para piano" (piano) (1978)
* "Poema de amor" ( soprano and orchestra) (1981)
* "Cinco Interludios -Quasi variazioni-" (string quartett) (1983)
* "Siete Escenas de Hamlet" (recitant and chamber orchestra) (1989)
* "New Epigrams" (chamber ensemble) (1997)
* "Alter Klang. Impromptu for orchestra upon Klee" (symphony orchestra) (2006)
* "Cuarteto de cuerda núm. 3" (-'... raging in the dark - the night's
remorse'- (W. B. Yeats) (2009)
* "Impromptu" (piano) (2009)
* "Dove of Peace. Homage to Picasso". Chamber concert nr. 1 for
clarinet and ensemble (2010)
* "Seis Glosas para sexteto" (upon Cees Nooteboom texts) (2010)

During the seminar the composer will analize matters concerning the harmonic dimensions, motifs and poliphony, timbre and texture, strategies of growing and shape, etc, including precise references to other composers, since the maestros of modern music such as Cerha, Berio and Ligeti to contemporary authors such as Knussen, Lindberg and Benjamin, by means of an open dialogue and discussion with the attendants.

Both the technics and the poetry will be treated as a whole, looking for the balance between the search for new things and the inner personal insight that presides the creative action.

Attendants will receive a dossier (texts and fragments of scores)


Thursday, September 15th at 19.30hs
Conservatorio Superior de Música de la Ciudad "Astor Piazzolla"
Sarmiento 3401 – Buenos Aires


Guido Baggiani studied composition in the Conservatory Santa Cecilia of Rome witn Boris Porena and continued in the Reinische Musikschule of Köln with K. Stockhausen.
Professor of Composition in the Conservatory Rossini of Pesaro (1970-1978) and Perugia (until 1995).
Since 1974 his works are performed regularly in the most prestigious festivals in the world. He was commissioned works from important European musical ensembles.
In 1977 he founded the Musica Verticale ensemble for the study and knowledge of the XXth Century music, which made a presentation in the Festival Encuentros in 1978.

He has writen chamber, electroacoustic, orchestral, vocal works and the reviews consider him as one of the most important contemporary Italian composers. His works explore the possibility of meeting the electroacoustic and instrumental technics.

His works has been conducted by outstanding conductors such as Gilbert Amy,
Claudio Scimone, Patrice Mestral, Jesus Villa Rojo, Jacques Mercier, Antonio
Ballista, Flavio Scogna.

“The analysis of my work Anabasi”

Anabasi(from the Athenian Xenophonte ) for female voices quartett, wooden instruments, vibraphone and electroacoustics was writen upon texts by Aldo Rostagno.
This work can be seen as a return travel, a way of uncertainty and nostalgia.

This Anabasi is as well a way between two worlds in which the instrumental, vocal and electroacustic writing are confronted alternatively in a circular way.
Baggiani uses the electroacoustic technics of the Ring-modulation.

Different episodes are offered as if they were a translation of other distant writings in time and space.